jump to navigation

Knowing the Difference Between Intuition and Ego Based Fear June 29, 2010

Posted by wakingupgroggy in Uncategorized.
trackback

There is a fine line between following our intuition/inner guidance and ego based fear nudges, often we can get these two things confused. I’ve found in my experience that true intuition is a quiet voice that gives me an idea I quickly shoo away for one reason or another.

Recently, I started a part time class in an art school I’ve always felt some disdain for as I feel they’re pretentious. It never would have happened if I’d listen to my fears.

About 2 months before, my mother offered to buy art supplies for me so I could start painting again and I turned her down. I made excuses for it at first; I didn’t want her to spend her money on me, too tired, pregnant and it’s too much right now etc etc, something in me said ‘no not right now’. However a quiet nudge said “take a class at that school” I put aside my excuses and got up the courage to ask if her offer still stood and if I could use it to take a class. She was more than happy to pay for it and I’m so glad she did, it’s exactly what I needed to get out of a rut and get motivated. I also realized that school is great for pushing the boundaries of how I approach a painting and forced me out of my box. It wasn’t the school that’s pretentious, it was my fear that I don’t belong there.

We’re in a time when our boundaries are getting pushed, we’re being tested and our old beliefs challenged. If we have the courage to push through whatever fears are holding us back we’ll reap great rewards. This period may be difficult but it’s a gift to us from the universe to be happy and finally heal,  sometimes we need a push to get there….and sometimes that forces us to do things we would never have considered before.

From now on whenever you have a feeling that prevents you from making a change or taking a risk; ask yourself if it’s your true inner guidance or your fears stopping you in your tracks.

Comments»

1. Miss mag - September 27, 2012

Thank you so much. I’m going to go do everything that I had feared doing..


Leave a Reply

