jump to navigation

You Can’t See What’s Right if all You See is What’s Wrong April 8, 2010

Posted by wakingupgroggy in Uncategorized.
trackback

This morning, after writing an email to a friend complaining about my week, it suddenly hit me how ungrateful I sound. It’s not that I don’t have the right to vent, or have a bad week but it’s the emphasis on what’s wrong that made me see how much of what’s right I tend to block out.

When things feel wrong, nothing feels right and when things feel right, something must be wrong. How many of us suffer from that type of wonky thinking?

After writing that email I thought about whats right. Well I have a warm comfortable place to live, that’s something to be incredibly grateful for. I often eat at this wonderful little restaurant for lunch as it calms me,  that I can even afford to do that once a week makes me very lucky, in fact knowing where my next meal is coming from makes me very lucky indeed.

I’m surrounded by people who love me, who would miss me when I’m gone. I live within walking distance to the sea shore which I love, when I’m stressed I can take a candle lit bubble bath…to even have clean running water is something to be thankful for. I have  2 cats  I adore,  a husband that’s supportive, loving and my best friend, and I live in a safe neighborhood.

I’d say I’m  pretty damned lucky, and to complain about everything that’s wrong is like a bratty child who’s screaming because they can’t have the toy they want, when they have an entire room full of toys they barely play with at home. It’s an insult to my life, the life I’ve built for myself.

It’s difficult when emotions take over and paints everything grey, when we feel low…but in those moments we can look around at what what’s right and be thankful for that, I know I will.

Take Care

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

